S.P.E.B.S.Q.S.A.
1973 Pioneer District
Fall Convention
October 12, 13, 14



Welcome to Battle Creek Cereal Capital of the World

From your hosts
The Cereal City Chapter





WELCOME TO BATTLE CREEK . . . Barbershoppers and Barbershop fans.

We hope you find this a weekend of harmony in every way and that you will leave us with a smile on your face and a song in your heart.

Even though we are here to compete — in this type of competition there are only winners — no losers.

Wishing all of you the best in singing and in listening.

ABOUT OUR COVER

This year's cover was drawn by Ken Yaw a long time member of the Battle Creek Chapter. It graphicly represents the 32 years that quartet competition has been held in the Pioneer District which is now comprised of 30 Chapters in Michigan and Ontario with 1486 members.

A L. Burill.



OUR INTERNATIONAL REPRESENTATIVE

Plummer Collins of Warren, Pennsylvania is International Vice President-Treasurer of the 35,000 member Society for the Preservation and Encouragement of Barber Shop Quartet Singing in America. He was elected to this position at the organization's 34th annual convention in Atlanta, Georgia in July, 1972 and took office January 1, 1973.

Collins is a long time member of the barbershop harmony society, having joined the Warren chapter in 1952. Since then he has held nearly all chapter and district administrative posts. He became president of the Seneca Land District (upper New York State) in 1957 and later served on the Society's international board of directors.

In business life Collins is branch manager of a finance company. He is married and has two children.

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS

Saturday, October 13

7:45 a.m. Judges Breakfast and Briefing Hart Motor Inn

8:00 a.m. Registration Hart Motor Inn

9:00 a.m. Quartet Briefing Kellogg Auditorium - Backstage

9:30 a.m. District Quartet Semi-finals Kellogg Auditorium

12 Noon Judges Luncheon Hart Motor Inn

1:00 p.m. Chorus Directors Briefing
Kellogg Auditorium - Backstage

1:30 p.m. Chorus Contest Kellogg Auditorium

4:30 p.m.* Chorus Critique Kellogg Auditorium

8:15 p.m. District Quartet Finals Contest Kellogg Auditorium

*Should Chorus Contest conclude before 3:30; critique will be at 4:00 p.m.

Sunday, October 14

9:00 a.m. Quartet Critique (as assigned) Hart Motor Inn

9:00 a.m. House of Delegates Meeting Hart Motor Inn

QUARTET SEMI-FINALS

9:30 a.m. October 13, 1973

W. K. KELLOGG AUDITORIUM

M.C. — Bill Warner (Pioneer District President)

QUARTETS

(In Order of Appearance) Late Entries Sing First

Member names are in order:

Tenor	Baritone
Lead	Bass
1. Herr-Razors	Oakland County
Jack Herr	Chuck Gordon
Mike Nowak	Rick Mead
2 Colorios	Crand Panide

- 3. The Used Parts Lansing
 Bill McCurdy Bill Reid
 Gene Johnson Larry Horton
- 4. The Circuit Breakers Battle Creek Robert Dixon Merle Clayton Ray Pontoni Aaron Heldt
- 5. The Last Call Traverse City
 Charlie Van Horn Louie Girard
 Pete Nelson Dean Fischer

QUARTET SEMI-FINALS

6. The Back Porch Major Oakland County, Flin	
Fred McFayden	Pat Yacques
Dick McHugh	Cliff Douglas
7. Voice Quad	Detroit #1
Les Marhoff	Dave Carey
Dick Barron	Ed Corn
Dick Darron	Lu com
8. About Four	Kalamazoo
Bob Moon	Paul Weeldreyer
Doug Webb	Gerry Formsma
9. Ring Masters	Saginaw-Bay Randy Meldrum Dick Mueller
10. The Latest Edition	
Herm Dykema	George Palmer
Dick Peterson	John Benjamin
11. Four "D" Minors Dean Burrill Dick Spear	Battle Creek Dorn Burrill Don Burrill
12. Innocent Bystanders Wayne Brumm Darl Wiley	Oakland County Del Badgley Bob McDermott

PIONEER DISTRICT PRELIMINARIES INTERNATIONAL CHORUS CONTEST

1:30 P.M., October 13, 1973







Choruses and Directors (In order of Appearance) Late entries sing first	ĵ	6. Great Lakes Chorus Grand Rapids Charles Buffham
Cereal City Chorus Battle Creek Larry Swan Late entries	٠	 Jackson Chorus Jackson James Stephens Timberland Chordsmen Saginaw-Bay Herb Benjamin
		9. Lakeshore Chorus Grosse Pointe Russell Seely
2. Motor City Chorus Detroit #1 Tom Hine		10. Arrowhead Chorus Flint Jack Lyons
3. Wayne Wonderland Chorus Wayne Bob Whitledge		11. Mall City Chorus Kalamazoo Douglas Webb
4. Cadillac Chorus Cadillac Al Hubschnider		12. Floral City Chorus Monroe Charles Drouillard
5. Capital City Chordsmen Lansing Ken Gibson	Ì	13. Huron Valley Chorus Milford Martin Zurn

PIONEER DISTRICT INTERNATIONAL CHORUS REPRESENTATIVE

Congratulations!

PIONEER DISTRICT OFFICERS

President William Warner
Executive Vice PresidentDon Funk
Vice President Zone 1 \dots .Doran McTaggart
Vice President Zone $2 \ldots $ Herman Dykema
$\label{thm:president Zone 3} Del \ Doctor$
$\ \ Vice\ President\ Zone\ 4\ \ldots\ldots.\ Loton\ Willson$
Vice President Zone $5 \ldots \ldots$ Cliff Douglas
Treasurer Lawrence King
Secretary John Gillespie
$International\ Board\ Member\ \dots Tom\ Damm$
$Immediate\ Past\ President\ \dotsTom\ Damm$
${\bf Troubadour\ Editor\dots\dots Roger\ Lewis}$

CONVENTION COMMITTEE

Chairman Dean Burrill
Co-Chairman Larry Swan
Treasurer Aaron Heldt
Secretary Ray Davis
Auditorium Dick Smith
Stage ManagerDorn Burrill
Stage Assistant Manager Don Burrill
Backstage Assistant Sanford Burrill
Registration Lowell Wolfe
Judges Ray Sikkenga
Special Events-Afterglow Tim Moran
PublicityRoger Lewis
Programs Doug Swan and
Chuck Zimmerman
TicketsDick Spear

JUDGES

HARMONY ACCURACY Herbert Juneau, Land O'Lakes John Reid, Ontario

BALANCE and BLEND Jim Bentel, Illinois William Fitzgerald, Land O'Lakes

INTERPRETATION

Dan Waselchuck, Land O'Lakes
Ken Warner, Johnny Appleseed

STAGE PRESENCE Jack Hines, Far Western Denis St. Denis, Illinois

ARRANGEMENT Russell Foris, Illinois Warren Haeger, Illinois

SECRETARY Charles Naser, Cardinal

ASSISTANT SECRETARY Steven Jacobs, Land O'Lakes

CHAIRMAN Edwin Gaikema, Pioneer

TIMERS Lawrence G. King, Pioneer Gene Gillem, Saginaw Bay

Lights for the judges furnished by Cooperative Electrical 107 S. McCamly

PIONEER DISTRICT QUARTET FINALS PROGRAM

8:15 p.m., October 13, 1973

W. K. KELLOGG AUDITORIUM M.C. — DORAN MC TAGGART

IIKE T	ESTERS		

TEN MINUTE INTERMISSION

FINALS PROGRAM

1974 Pioneer District International Chorus Representative







1972 Pioneer District Quartet Champions Northern Hi Lites

1973 PIONEER DISTRICT QUARTET CHAMPIONS

2	
2nd	
3rd	
Junior Champions	
Novice Champions	

BATTLE CREEK CHAPTER SPEBSQSA OFFICERS AND MEMBERS

President
Vice-president, administrative Ray Davis
Vice-president, program Tom Brown
Secretary
Treasurer Aaron Heldt

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Hugo Schranz	Arnold Robbins	Doug Swan
John Davis	Jim Cramer	Hugh White
	MEMBERS	

	MEMBERS	
Jim Boyd	Harold Evans	Hugo Schranz
Tom Brown	Aaron Heldt	Ray Sikkenga
Dean Burrill	Gary Hoefler	Dick Smith
Don Burrill	Edward Holtz	Howard Spear
Dorn Burrill	Benjamin Jerzyk	Larry Swan
Sanford Burrill	Roger Lewis	Doug Swan
Dave Cawood	Frank Manwaring	Hal Tousey
Bill Clark	Ron Mell	Duane Vorce
Leland Clay	Pat McCarty	Hugh White
Merle Clayton	Tim Moran	Lowell Wolfe
Jim Cramer	Doug Peterson	Chuck Yaw
John Davis	Ray Pontoni	Ken Yaw
Ray Davis	Glen Ramsey	Chuck Zimmerman
Bob Dixon	Arnold Robbins	

Joe Runyon

Dave Eddy

NOTES